Saturday, June 5, 2010

Center For Small Towns at the University of Minnesota-Morris is set to host the

The schedule of events is below, for the Symposium on Small Towns taking place on Thursday, June 10th. I'll be attending the activities and blogging live from UMM.

  • 8:00 a.m.—9:00 a.m.
    Breakfast, Registration and Networking
    Turtle Mountain Café & Oyate Hall, Student Center
  • 9:00 a.m.—9:30 a.m.
    Joint Symposium Welcome
    Center for Small Towns, Director—Bart Finzel
    Minnesota Rural Partners, Director—Jane Leonard
    Poet, UMM English faculty—Athena Kildegaard
    City of Morris, Mayor—Sheldon Giese
    Science Auditorium
  • 9:30 a.m.—10:30 a.m.
    A panel of “real people doing real stuff” emphasizing small communities with big success stories
    Moderator: Dave Engstrom, Minnesota Association of Small Cities
    Panelists: Muriel Krusemark – Hoffman Economic Development Association, Stephanie Ibarra - Madelia Mobile Home Co-op
    Science Auditorium
  • 10:30 a.m.—11:00 a.m. Break
  • 11:00 a.m.—12:00 p.m. Breakout Sessions
    Various Locations
  • 12:00 p.m.—1:30 p.m. Lunch - Featured speaker: Colleen Landkamer, MN State Director USDA Rural Development
    UMM Food Service
  • 1:30 p.m.—2:30 p.m. Showcase Fair
    Community Leadership Cities, Success Stories, Community Pride Communities, Rural-Urban Connection examples
    Oyate Hall, Student Center (Mall)
  • 2:30 p.m.—2:45 p.m. Short Break
  • 2:45 p.m.—3:45 p.m. POLICY PANEL—“How Public Policies are Improving Rural Small Town Viability”—Gubernatorial candidates
    Moderator: Kate Smith, Minnesota Public Radio
    Proscenium Theatre, Humanities Fine Arts
  • 3:45 p.m.—4:15 p.m. Closing—review highlights and comment on upcoming activities
    Proscenium Theatre, Humanities Fine Arts
  • 4:30 p.m.—6:00 p.m. Rural-Urban Partnering Council—POST SYMPOSIUM
    Student Center—Study Hall

No comments: